Leigh’s Newsletter
Leigh’s Newsletter Podcast
Music from beyond the grave… remembering Leo from Spain
4
0:00
-58:40

Music from beyond the grave… remembering Leo from Spain

Friends home from home
4

Well, hello everybody … this is a show about being at home, I recorded it while I was living on a hillside in Valencia.

We have plenty of friends out there, good friends still. Sadly, one of the nicest people is no longer with us. Leo…

Big, tall man with a proud goatee and a shaved head, he loved rock n roll. He had opinions too, could be arrogant but more than anything else he was straightforward and very, very funny. And a  good carpenter.

Anyway, when it was coming to final road for him, he sat in his bed and wrote down a list of his favourite songs and sent them to me.

We didn’t want to forget about Leo when he was finally gone, and neither did a large swathe of Spain. So, we created a ‘spot’  for him on a show I was doing called the Dinner Party.

And until his list ran out we featured him every week.

 Nobody wanted to let him go and we still remember him.

****

At the same time I asked one of my very best mates, Steve, to send me a list of his music too. His choice then was stunning and still is!

And this is the show they first appeared together on…

Thank you Leo and Steve.

4 Comments